top of page

i love myself. the quietest. simplest. most powerful. revolution. ever.


When I woke up the morning after Donald Trump was elected president, one of my first thoughts was a list of all the parts of my body that he hates: my working brain, my saggy breasts, my uterus, my pussy, my fat stomach and thighs... His names for fat women kept running through my head. I have struggled to value my body for a long time and suddenly all my internal negativity was reinforced by the president of my country and everyone who voted for him.

I wish so hard I could say I responded to this by beginning to love my body. I didn't.

But I'm working on it. And Donald Trump is wrong about my body, and he is wrong about all the other bodies that he devalues (Black bodies, Mexican bodies, Muslim bodies, queer bodies, trans bodies, disabled bodies, fat bodies, women's bodies, pregnant bodies).

But I'm working on it.

Because, as Nayyirah Waheed wrote:

“i love myself.

the quietest.

simplest.

most powerful.

revolution.

ever.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page